Work with me

Want to work together? I’d love to!

Here are a couple ways to do that:

Food and drink, fermentation, food writing, and food history:

I work with event planners, festivals, restaurants, bookstores, and many others to create engaging events around food, fermentation, and history including:

  • Book talks/demos/events for Our Fermented Lives

  • Fermentation classes and demos

  • Mindful making, mindful fermentation, and mindful eating

  • Exploring place and self through food

  • Talks on food history

  • Collaborative events with other creators including:

    • food storytelling

    • mindfulness (great for yoga/movement instructors or for crafting alongside other makers using a mindful approach)

    • fermentation

    • the history of food and drink

    • food and place

I am Founder and Director of Root, an award-winning fermentation and food history organization, which offers workshops, online classes, consulting, and more. Learn more about Root’s work here.

Writing and writing coaching:

I am a writing coach and facilitate intentional co-writing spaces, as well as similar spaces for creatives engaged in any craft.

My focus is on helping others hold space for their work, and find their confidence and voice as writers so they can bring their biggest, most important, and exciting dreams to life on the page.

Learn more about my writing coaching through Roots and Branches, including 1:1 intensives to bring your book to life, supportive community co-writing spaces, and online workshops.

I also am happy to offer private workshops and other programs for your organization.

Etc:

I love to do work that sits at the intersection of all my skills and experience, so if you have an event or an idea that feels a little “out there,” I might just be the collaborator for you.

Some ideas + examples of past events:

  • Wildcrafting walks

  • Fermentation oracle demos and readings (based on The Hidden Cosmos: A Fermentation Oracle + Recipe Deck and soon on my second deck, The Fermentation Adventure).

  • Collective ferment-making for manifesting or releasing grief

  • Vision boarding and free-writing spaces

  • And more

For a complete list of available workshop and event options plus descriptions, or to explore other ways to work together, please write to julia@root-kitchens.com